CHURCHES

CATHEDRAL CHURCH OF ST. MICHAEL THE ARCHANGEL

Cathedral was built in the nineteenth century in the place of an old, demolished church. It was built in the late baroque and classicist style, differing from the traditional Byzantine style dominant at that time. Many eminent Serbs are buried in this church, such as rulers Miloš and Mihailo Obrenović, while in front of the church lie buried Dositej Obradović and Vuk Karadžić, Serbian educators and language reformers. Cathedral is the prominent symbol of Belgrade.

ST. MARK’S CHURCH

It was designed to resemble style of the Gračanica Monastery in Kosovo. Although the church has never been decorated with frescoes, it possesses a valuable collection of icons. This church is the resting place of emperor Dušan the Mighty (in whose time Serbia reached Corinth) and the royal couple Aleksandar Obrenović and Draga Mašin, who were killed by conspirators and after that Karadjordjević Dynasty took over the throne.

RUSSIAN ORTHODOX CHURCH - CHURCH OF THE HOLY TRINITY

Behind St. Mark’s Church stands small Russian church - Church of the Holy Trinity. It was built in 1917 by donations of numerous Russian refuges who came from Russia after the October Revolution, as well as with the donations of Serbian government and Serbian royal family. One of its biggest patrons, White Army general Pyotr Nikolayevich Wrangel, was buried by his own wish in this church in 1928. Until today, only Russian priests served in this church. It has valuable collection of iconostasis, icons, and church relics, as well as big library. During NATO bombing church was heavily damaged, but it was repaired in 2000 and today it serves as a place of worship.

RUŽICA CHURCH

Ružica Church is the oldest church in Belgrade, dating from the 18th century. For a certain period during its history, it was a Turkish gunpowder depot. After some time it was transformed again into church, but this time military. At the church entrance stand two sculptures - one representing a soldier from the army of Dušan the Mighty, Serbian king and the other presenting a solder from the Balkan Wars.
Ružica Church is one of ten most interesting ecclesiastical buildings in the world because of its chandelier completely made of bullet casings.

ST. PETKA CHAPEL

Beneath the Ružica Church stands the Chapel of Saint Petka dedicated to the most popular female saint among Serbs.
It is believed that wherever a church of Saint Petka exists, a miraculous spring appears. People say that water from this spring has healing powers. The present-day chapel was built on foundations of an older one in 1937.

ALEXANDER NEVSKY CHURCH

This church is dedicated to Alexander Nevsky, Prince of Novgorod and a Russian saint. Alexandar Nevski Church was built in 1929, on the place of a mobile military church that served Russian soldiers during Serbian-Turkish war in late 1800s. Church is known after marble iconostasis received from Church of St. George in Oplenac.

BAJRAKLI MOSQUE

Once upon a time, there were more than 80 mosques in Belgrade. Today, Bajrakli Mosque, built in 1575, is the last one remaining. As the number of mosques in Belgrade decreased, a flag on top of this one marked the beginning of prayer in all remaining mosques. After that flag mosque got its name (bajrakli). During Austrian rule in the first half of 17th century, Bajrakli Mosque was converted into catholic church and most of other mosques were destroyed. After Turks regain its rule, church was reconverted into mosque. Today stands as the only place of prayer for Muslims in Belgrade.

SYNAGOGUE

This is the only synagogue remaining in Belgrade. During the Second World War, Germans desecrated it since they held a brothel in it. Building of todays Jewish synagogue was built as a confirmation of Serbian-Jewish friendship. Document confirming this friendship was signed and immured in the foundations by King Aleksandar. Traditionally, this synagogue followed the Ashkenazi rite and served a congregation of Belgrade Jews who spoke Yiddish. Today, however, it serves whole (Sephardi and Ashkenazi) Jewish community remaining in the city following the Holocaust. There are regular services on Friday evenings and Jewish holidays.