KALENIďż˝


KALENIC MONASTERY ďż˝ early XV century

The Kalenic monastery is a foundation of protovestiar (high Byzantine title) Bogdan, his wife Milica, and his brother Peter. The church, dedicated to the Presentation of the Holy Virgin, was built and painted between 1407 and 1413. After repeated Turkish assaults it was abandoned in the late 17th century. The monastery was restored in 1766, but during the rebellion against the Turks, in which the Kalenic monks took part, 1788-1791, the monastery was burnt. The monks came back at the end of the century. The new narthex was erected in 1806.

Kaleni� monastery is situated on the lower slopes of the Gledi� mountains, west of the village of Opari� in the Leva� region. Of the original monastery complex, only theChurch of the Presentation of the Virgin�remains.

It is considered one of the most beautiful examples of Morava�architecture�and Byzantine construction. The church is very picturesque from the outside due to the beautifully-laid blocks of white stone and red brick. Above the windows and portals there is a shallow relief decoration depicting birds, griffins and lions. The key motifs of the relief decoration are a two-stranded braid, a stylised lily and palmette�and anthropomorphic and zoomorphic depictions.

The�exceptional painting, with its refined colouring and pensive figures of saints, is considered one of the finest artistic works in the entire Byzantine world among those dating from the first quarter of the 15th�century. Especially striking are the composition Wedding at Cana, and the depictions of holy warriors and saints set into medallions.

The fresco decoration of Kaleniďż˝ Monastery is the masterpiece of one of the greatest Serbian artists of the first part of the 15th century, master Radoslav and his company. In narthex of Kalenic Monastery there is the fresco depicting endowers - Bogdan and his wife Milica and his brother Peter, as well as the portrait of Despot Stefan Lazareviďż˝.

From 1815 until 1839 the church of Kaleniďż˝ Monastery hosted the holy relics of King Stefan the First-Crowned, afterwards transferred back to Studenica Monastery.

There is a Museum exposition of �umadija Diocese in Kaleni� Monastery.

The monastery has also a new comfortable Hospice built in 2008.